Skip to main content »

Trinity College Dublin

Department of Chemistry, UCC

Prof Mick Morris

Prof Mick Morris
Prof Mick Morris

Email:             m.morris AT

Telephone:    +353.21.4902180

Within CRANN, the Morris research group focuses on the development of nanoelectronic devices which has strong links to Intel. Their work centres on the development of self-organised block copolymers for the generation of precise surface patterns which can be transferred into substrates to create novel nanodimensioned device structures.  The group also uses chemical based processes for developing nanoengineered surface coatings and treatments which have superior function compared to standard materials.  This expertise is the basis of important industry relationships including DePuy, (synthesis of apatite materials) and Merck Millipore (novel membrane technologies).  The group has strong expertise in the solid state chemistry of lanthanide oxides and their use in catalysis, environmental mediation and electronics.   Michael Morris is a founder of Glantreo, a SME spin out for Cork, and maintains links in developing novel stationary phase materials for chromatography applications.

Prof Michael Morris graduated with a PhD from Liverpool University in 1982. He was a post-doctoral fellow at Imperial College in London before moving to Strathclyde University as a lecturer before, in 1987, taking an ICI endowed lectureship at Cardiff University for research into surface science and catalysis. This was followed by a move to ICI as a research scientist with particular interest in developing high temperature catalysts and during this period he worked with academic groups in Cambridge, Nottingham, UMIST and Edinburgh. He was appointed to a post in Materials Chemistry at UCC in 1993 and now  holds the Chair of Inorganic Chemistry and is current Head of the Department of Chemistry at the university.  He is an adjunct Professor of Chemistry at Trinity College Dublin and visiting Professor at the University of Orleons. Prof Morris is also a Principal Investigator at the Tyndall National Institute.