Skip to main content »

Trinity College Dublin

Latest News

Published on 19.06.13

International Recognition for Contribution of Irish Researcher to Nanoscience

Professor Michael Coey

Professor Michael Coey, a Principal Investigator in CRANN and the School of Physics, Trinity College Dublin, has been elected to the European Academy of Science (EURASC).

The European Academy of Science is an independent, not-for-profit organisation that aims to promote excellence in science technology. Based in Belgium, its members include Nobel Prize and Fields medal winners and the best European scientists with a vision for the scientific, economic and social future of Europe. Professor Coey is the first Irish researcher to be elected as a member.

Professor Coey has also been awarded a 2013 Research Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. The Foundation grants awards to internationally-renowned senior academics in any field in recognition of their entire research career.  In recognition of his contributions to magnetism and magnetic materials, Prof. Coey has been granted €60,000 to pursue research on rare-earth free permanent magnets with Prof Claudia Felser of the Max-Planck institute for Chemical Physics in Dresden.

Congratulating Professor Coey, Dr. Diarmuid O’Brien, Executive Director of CRANN said,

I am delighted to see Professor Coey receive these accolades during Nanoweek 2013.  Professor Coey has long had a vision for science both in Europe and Ireland. His proposal to develop the Science Gallery in particular has paid dividends in terms of helping the public to engage with nanoscience and scientific research generally. In terms of commercial impact, his work on spin electronics and magnetics is helping CRANN’s industry partners to continually improve their manufacturing processes.”

An award-winning researcher and a former deputy Director of CRANN, Professor Coey’s accomplishments relate primarily to magnetism and spin electronics. As part of this research, magnets one-million times smaller than a pin-head are being created, which has the potential to transform the production of computer and electronic devices. Such research is radically improving Ireland’s research credentials and is helping to attract further industry-investment in Ireland.

Professor Coey said, “The EU continues to champion scientific research with Horizon 2020, and projects such as the EU Graphene Flagship and the ERC awards program. I look forward working with other European researchers, both in the Academy and in Germany, to promote nanoscience research at academic and industry levels, and advance the economic and social impact of nanoscience and science generally.”


About Professor Michael Coey:

Prof. Coey is a Principal Investigator with CRANN and Trinity College Dublin’s School of Physics. He is an authority on magnetism and its applications; he has developed novel permanent magnets and contributed to the understanding of magnetism in both amorphous and natural materials. The research of the Magnetism and Spin Electronics group is focused in four main areas; exploration of new magnetic materials, development of new thin-film magnetic devices, magnetoelectochemistry, where they explore the varied influences of magnetic fields in electrochemical cells and magnetobiology, where they are developing new applications of magnetic sensors, and exploring the use of magnetic fields in the emerging field of nanoneuronics. Prof. Michael Coey has degrees from universities in the UK, Ireland, France and Canada. After gaining his PhD in 1971 he was appointed Chargé des Recherches with the CNRS (Grenoble) and was visiting scientist at the IBM T. J. Watson Research Centre (New York). He moved to Trinity College Dublin in 1978, and became Professor of Experimental Physics, he took up his present chair in 2007. He founded Magnetic Solutions Ltd. in 1994, the Trinity College Science Gallery in 2007, and co-ordinated the Concerted European Action on Magnets from 1985 - 94. His SFI-funded project on Conception and Implementation of Nanoscale Spin Electronics (CINSE, 2001–2006) was followed by Magnetic Nanostructures and Spin Electronics project (MANSE 2006–2010) and Nanoscale interfaces and Spin Electronics (2011-2013), Honours included the Charles Cree Medal, IOP (1997), the Gold Medal of the RIA (2005) and an honorary doctorate from Grenoble (1994). In 2010, Prof Coey was awarded an Einstein Professorship; in 2011 he won the RDS/Intel Prize for Nanoscience and in 2012, the SFI Researcher of the Year.


EURASC carries an important mission to promote excellence in science and technology and their essential roles in fostering social and economic development and progress. The official name of the institution is European Academy of Sciences (Académie Européenne des Sciences). It is registered and operates under rules and regulations of the Kingdom of Belgium (law 27.06.1921 ultimately revised in 2003). The European Academy of Sciences was recognized by Royal Decree of December 17, 2003, issued by Albert II, the King of Belgium.

About the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Every year, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation enables more than 2,000 senior and junior researchers from all over the world to spend time researching in Germany. The Foundation maintains a network of well over 26,000 Humboldtians from all disciplines in more than 130 countries worldwide – including 49 Nobel Prize winners.

Back to News Listing